• CAPITAL: Malabo
  • SURFACE: 28,052.46 km²
  • INHABITANTS: 1,225,377 hab.
    French and Portuguese

Practical Information

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is located in the Gulf of Guinea and is organized into two regional divisions: the Continental Region and the Insular Region.

The Continental Region is bordered to the north by Cameroon, to the east and south by Gabon and to the west with the Gulf of Guinea. The island of Corisco also belongs to this area. The mainland capital is the city of Bata. The Insular Region comprises the island of Bioko, where the island capital, Malabo and the island of Annobón are located.

The first Europeans to set foot on Equatorial Guinean lands were the Portuguese in 1471. That year, the Portuguese Fernando Poo, who was looking for a route to India, placed the island of Bioko on European maps . Equatorial Guinea remained in Portuguese hands until March 1778, when it was ceded to Spain, who kept it as a protectorate until 1959, when an internal self-government was created

The long-awaited independence came in 1968, although during the first eleven years as an independent state, Equatorial Guinea was subjected to a brutal dictatorship: that of President Macias Nguema. On August 3, 1979, through a coup, the dictatorial regime of Macías ended and a military regime began, which would later give rise to a democratic regime led by the current President of the Republic, Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo. The general situation began to improve: the country benefited from the resumption of international assistance and became a full member of reputable international institutions, such as the Central African Economic and Customs Union (CEEAC). In 1985 it became a member of the French Monetary Zone.

On August 3, 1979, the dictatorial regime of Macías ended, giving rise to a democratic regime led by the current President of the Republic, Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo

In the 90s, large oil and gas reserves were found in the country, which generated that, in just a few years, Equatorial Guinea went from being an impoverished economy, mainly agricultural, to the leading oil producer in the Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC) zone. This, added to the efficient management of the government of President Obiang, have made Equatorial Guinea a benchmark country in the West African region and increasingly positioned internationally.

Equatorial Guinea is located, as its name indica, in the equatorial part of Africa, and its the geographical arrangement is composed of two main regions: the continental region, with a area of ​​26,017 km², which is limited to the north with Cameroon, to the east and south with Gabon and to the west with Atlantic Ocean; and the island region, of 2,034 km², formed by the islands of Bioko where the the capital Malabo, Annobón and those located in Corisco Bay: Corisco, Elobey Grande, Elobey Chico and a few others.


The country is administratively divided into eight provinces: Annobón (San Antonio de Palea), Bioko Norte (Malabo), Bioko Sur (Luba), Centro Sur (Evinayong), Kie-Ntem (Ebebiyin), Litoral (Bata), Djibloho (Djibloho) and Wele-Nzas (Mongomo)

The current capital, Malabo, is home to the institutions the supreme courts of the nation and diplomatic representations, while Bata – in the continent – plays all once again the role of associated capital, as evidenced by the recent transfer of the seat of Parliament to this city. Likewise, the new town of Oyala, on the mainland, was built with the aim of becoming the future administrative capital of the country.

Over 45% of Equatorial Guinea’s territory is forested and is formed by tropical forests, in which its extraordinary biodiversity.


Embassy of the Republic of Ecuatorial Guinea in Congo Brazzaville