May 27, 2021


Equatorial Guinea is located, as its name indica, in the equatorial part of Africa, and its the geographical arrangement is composed of two main regions: the continental region, with a area of ​​26,017 km², which is limited to the north with Cameroon, to the east and south with Gabon and to the west with Atlantic Ocean; and the island region, of 2,034 km², formed by the islands of Bioko where the the capital Malabo, Annobón and those located in Corisco Bay: Corisco, Elobey Grande, Elobey Chico and a few others.


The country is administratively divided into eight provinces: Annobón (San Antonio de Palea), Bioko Norte (Malabo), Bioko Sur (Luba), Centro Sur (Evinayong), Kie-Ntem (Ebebiyin), Litoral (Bata), Djibloho (Djibloho) and Wele-Nzas (Mongomo)

The current capital, Malabo, is home to the institutions the supreme courts of the nation and diplomatic representations, while Bata – in the continent – plays all once again the role of associated capital, as evidenced by the recent transfer of the seat of Parliament to this city. Likewise, the new town of Oyala, on the mainland, was built with the aim of becoming the future administrative capital of the country.

Over 45% of Equatorial Guinea’s territory is forested and is formed by tropical forests, in which its extraordinary biodiversity.


Embassy of the Republic of Ecuatorial Guinea in Congo Brazzaville